National Honor Society

What is the National Honor Society?

Marist NHS group photo

The Marist High School Chapter of the National Honor Society has been an academic tradition for many years. Students inducted into this prestigious group are held to the highest standards of character, service, leadership, and scholarship. Students are inducted at the end of either their sophomore year or their junior year in a special induction with the current NHS members present. Throughout their junior and senior years, each NHS class elects an executive board from the senior class, creates and carries out service projects, and maintains a successful tutoring program.

Membership Requirements

Students are invited to apply to Marist's Chapter of the National Honor Society when they earn a cumulative grade average of a 90 or above by either the third quarter of their junior year or their sophomore year. If a student decides to accept the invitation, they are given an application which asks them to detail their experiences with activities and service both inside and outside of the Marist community. Students also write an essay explaining their personal character. After the application is complete, a selection committee, led by the current moderator, interviews the students. Students are notified of their acceptance by early May and the induction ceremony takes place shortly afterwards. If a student is not accepted as a sophomore, they may be invited to apply again at the end of their junior year.

For 2017-18 School Year

The newest members of the NHS were inducted on May 16, 2017. The class is eager to leave their mark on Marist High School.


Executive Board:

President- Liam O'brien
Vice President- Victoria Skalski
Secretary- Kameela Mohsen
Treasurer- Mark Del Rosario
Grade 12:
Trinidy Alicea
Alexis Amo- Krah
Alyce Anthony
Jahdell Bass
Niecy Bernard
Joseph Caruso
Francis Escano
Elizabeth Hester
Mickey Krommie
Daniel Lambkin
Tory Longer
Kiel McKenzie
Lydia Mossuto
Samantha Nichols
Matthew Novicio
Maria Osilla-Rizza
Jesse Reurreccion
Vanissa Tunis
Vinnie Vaca
Victoria Vu
Alexandra Williams
Grade 11: 
Justin Balasia
Ciara Castillo
Sharlene Escaro
Michael Gray
Daniel Jenkins
Danielle Jenkins
Danielle Leahy
Stanley Millien
Jared Radil
Bemin Shaker
Romesha Wade